Ahoy there!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sea Fever

John Masefield (from Salt-Water Ballads, 1902)
I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a gray mist on the sea’s face, and a gray dawn breaking.

I must down go to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull’s way and the whale’s way, where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

 

I’d always enjoyed this poem, but it wasn’t until last month that I really understood it.  It all changed for me when the Enterprize ( An 1830’s replica) visited Portland, and I was able to take a trip on her. My first experience of being on the water under sail – and I was well and truly hooked!  Alas, the trip lasted less than an hour, and only part of that was under sail, but those times of eyes closed, listening to the water and feeling the wind on my face were total enchantment.

Here’s just a small selection of the many photos I took, but I hope it conveys a little of the magic.

Tall ship

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’d love to sail some more, and if I lived closer to Melbourne I could possibly join the volunteer program…. and maybe if I was younger, and maybe if….. but for now I’ll just dream……

Today it is the summer solstice, and a friend and I went out for lunch at a cafe overlooking the Portland Harbour.  A beautiful day in a beautiful place.

Season’s greetings to everyone, may your holidays be full of joy and goodness and blessings. xx

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

6 thoughts on “Ahoy there!

  1. What great photos you took, of a great experience. I had to laugh. Your response was exactly the same as mine, the first time I landed on a sailing vessel. That very night, I made arrangements to begin sailing lessons, and the rest is history.

    I have a couple of photos I took during a day on our tall ship, the Elissa, but they’re not nearly as good as yours. For one thing, they were taken with film, and they were taken in 1987. I hardly can believe it’s been that long ago. Of course, I can’t believe Christmas is in two days, either, so there’s that.

    I really like the detail photos: the bell, the pinrails, the lines. It makes me want to get on the water again, myself.

    • Sorry for the late reply, thought I had done so, but apparently no….
      It is amazing how many similarities we have isn’t it! Glad you like the details, I certainly had you in mind when I was shooting these images. 🙂
      Ropes are what fascinate me……

  2. I can almost smell the salt in the air. Hang on a minute, that’s probably got something to do with the fact I can see the sea from my window. Lovely photographs that remind me of my childhood.

    Though I was brought up about as far as you can get away from the sea in England, the wall of my bedroom was hung with paintings of ships my grandfather captained. There were even more stored in our cellar. The ones on my wall were steam, but others were sail.

    I longed to go back to sea after my first voyage across the sea to Norway aboard Fred Olsen’s SS Blenheim. Even at only two years old it stuck in my memory. The next time I went I was ten, this time to Gothenburg in Sweden aboard the SS Britannia of the Swedish Lloyd line.

    For anyone interested I wrote about that and another trip I took almost forty years later with my mother when she was nearly eighty. It appears on one of my blogs under the title Reflections in a Fjord.

    https://pedersenslastdream.wordpress.com/2013/02/24/reflections-in-a-fjord/

    • I’m guessing Bryan that more is carried in the blood than we could ever comprehend. I’m hoping to settle down to read you story tonight – your writing always carries me away…..

  3. Hi Enevea, I have at last caught up with your posts about your new life near Portland.

    I wish you well in your new home and I hope the southwest coast of VictorIa continues to delight and impress for a while yet.

    I hope your home is filled with music and the warmth of your pets companionship. I also hope you feel at home among people who share your creative passions.

    How lucky are you to be living next door to a donkey and having a koala at your backdoor!

    • Hi Margaret, I’m loving your posts about Port Fairy as they show me places I’ve not yet found myself despite many visits. Thank you too, for your good wishes, they are most appreciated 🙂 Yes, this area is full of creative souls and wonderful music – I just need to find my own rythym….

Leave a Reply

