I’ve been fleeced!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne day I was wandering around all bundled up in fine merino wool……..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen I was kidnapped and held to ransom!   I got FLEECED!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was bad enough when the dog didn’t recognise me and barked at me when I arrived back at the cottage, then the cats laughed, as only cats can – they think they are SO superior to anything else!  But the cattle – BAAAA!  They all gathered together to stare at me – how RUDE!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADon’t need company like that anyway!

E’s got all my wool now, and keeps talking about taking a photo sometime to show you all how wonderful it is.  Apparently it’s very high class microns.  At least she’s making sure I’m warm at night, and giving me extra food, and the weather has been quite mild.   And do you know, there’s times when I feel quite frisky, now that I’m not carrying all that wool around!  I guess there’s always a bright side to anything 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 thoughts on “I’ve been fleeced!!

  1. Poor Merriwether having his happy routine so rudely and roughly interrupted. He is still getting his head around the fact he is a prized wool producer as well as lawn mower. What are you planning to do with the fleece, Enivea?

    • He’s trim Paul, not skinny 🙂 But yes, he looks a bit like a cat who’s got wet 🙂 I’m still to weigh the fleece, but there’s a lot there. Different sections of the fleece will be used for different projects, keeping the prime wool for delicate garments. I am looking forward to sitting in the sunshine quietly spinning.

      • He must feel like a weight has been taken off! I’d be interested to know how much the fleece weighs, it does look huge. Wonderful how you’ll take the wool through the full cycle – from rearing and shearing to clothing. Were we all so self sufficient.

      • Well I used to be better. I bred, raised, and sheared the sheep myself, then spun the wool and sold jumpers . These days I can’t shear or breed sheep, but it is nice to still be able to do part of the process. Truly, I think it will be vital in times to come that people can do some of the basics for themselves.

Leave a Reply

