The Harvest

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI gathered the final pumpkins from the garden a few days ago, a little earlier than I’d have liked, but it was a question of getting them in before the rodents ate them!  This lot should last me six months anyway as this variety – a type of Queensland Blue – is a good keeper.  And it keeps my arm muscles strong – cutting into these hard skins is not for the faint-hearted!  It’s a busy busy time in the garden, pulling out the last of the summer crops, and putting in the next ones – garlic, onions, brassicas so far, with more to go in soon, including peas peas and more peas 🙂

Nights are cooler so it’s collection time for firewood – I’d prefer to do it during the summer but the danger of snakes is too high for me then.  Living the simple life is lovely, but golly there’s often not too many moments to savour it, especially at the change of seasons.

Taking a couple of days off though, for some R&R, and have vehicle maintenance done.  See you later 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Harvest

  1. What beautiful pumpkins. I’ve always tended to stick to pumpkins and squash that I know, but next fall I’ll keep an eye out for different varieties from our independent farmers.

    You’re gathering firewood and last night I had to turn on the air conditioning because of the heat and humidity! I’m trying to be better about conserving, partly because it’s a good thing to do and partly because it brings my bill down. In fact, last month’s bill was $20 less than a year ago, despite a price rise, so I’m on the right track.

    Enjoy your R&R!

    • They take two arms to hold them Timo, a few Kgs each. All my animals enjoy eating cooked pumpkin so it’s a good crop to grow.

  2. Oh My! Enivea. There is a lot of pumpkin soup in that barrow. Do you cut the pumpkins open with an axe?

    I am sorry I haven’t been able to visit your blog for a while but I have been offline. I am thankful I have the internet again.

    • Hi Margaret, lovely to see you again 🙂 I’ve been thinking about getting a tomahawk, but so far, my big pumpkin knife does the job well enough – with lots of grunting from me. I’ve been very busy getting ready for winter, so haven’t been on here much, but slowly getting jobs done and hope to be back on board soon.

Leave a Reply

