Thinking sideways

Firstly, sorry for my absence in recent times from here, and from commenting on other blogs, but sometimes my other life just gets in the way.  Hopefully I’ll be able to catch on soon.

Today though, I was able to take a trip to Penola to follow up on a project I’m putting together on wine…..  and no, it’s probably not going to be what you think.  More on that down the track as it comes together.

Just as I pulled into the town though, I caught sight of a great many vintage vehicles converging on the park in the main street – it turned out to be a vintage car rally from interstate and they were having their morning tea break at Penola.  Twenty five vehicles of varying ages with fifty people and no, I won’t say anything about THEIR ages!

I only had time for a few shots, but as I did them, I was thinking of the book I’d been reading by Freeman Patterson on Thinking Sideways – and here was the perfect opportunity to try something out.   Instead of trying to avoid sunflare, I took a chance on embracing it – just to see ‘what if ‘ .  In post production I played just slightly with levels, and here’s the result.  Personally I’m happy with it, and think it was worth nearly getting run over by a careless modern car driver backing into me as I crouched low in front of this vehicle.  Well, almost anyway………

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 thoughts on “Thinking sideways

  1. This is really interesting. I’ve noticed that sun flare is an effect in the new PicMonkey image editor, but I’ve thought — gosh, I’ve never even seen someone use that in a photo. I thought you were supposed to get rid of that. What would it look like, and why would you want it?

    Well, this! I really like it – quite a nice photo. That looks like quite a spiffy car, too.

    • Thanks Linda, pleased with your response. Sometimes the ‘rules’ are meant to be broken. 🙂 Spiffy car indeed – I’d be happy to have it in my fleet.

  2. That’s the second apology I’ve received from a blogger today, so I’ll give the same response. Okay, I’ll forgive you this time, but don’t do it again. No, we all have to live life, or we don’t get anything to write about.

    The sunflare thing is great. I use it sometimes, as well as going for the diffused effect you can get shooting towards the sun.

    • Ha! For me, it’s a fine line between ‘living life’ and suffering/recovering from the effects of leaving the property. Sometimes I fall off…..
      I think I like experimenting with different effects, as long as I can avoid it looking contrived.

Leave a Reply

