Overview of South East Field Day

Last Saturday I went to Lucindale where the South East Field Days were being held.  The previous day had been tough weather wise – strong winds and rain – so everyone was very happy when the day dawned clear and still.  Just perfect.

The Field Days are a bit like a country show, with some competitions, lots of entertainment, and of course, traders showcasing their wares.  All spread over 12 hectares.  As with last year, I didn’t see anywhere near all of it, but did greatly enjoy it just the same.  Also, it was lovely to reconnect with people I’d met elsewhere, as well as meet new ones.

My first place to visit was of course, the sheep yarddog trials.  The Australian kelpie doing what he/she does best. Working the sheep.  A good dog is worth two men.  🙂  And they never ask for a smoko.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFred has tried this and it isn’t as easy as it looks……

Each year, a scarecrow competition is held, catering for all ages from kindergarten to adults.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis was my favourinte scarecrow.  In the background, you can see some of the entries in the Mailbox competition.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn the country areas, mail is delivered to a mail box sitting on the side of the road, and people can be conservative or inventive with what they supply to collect the mail.  I live too far away to get my mail delivered and have to drive into town for it, although it would be fun to put a crazy mailbox at my front gate and see what happens 🙂

It was good to see my old friend the Elephant again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think it would be very funny to see this when driving down the highway – I’m sure they get lots of toots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATake a weight off your legs with a cradle like this one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe South East has many pine plantations, and this local bloke has found a great way of using the off-cuts from the industry, by making children’s toys.  At this stage, he makes fire engines and tractors, and hobbyhorses.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs I walked along the line of farm machinery, it was good to see the Lock the Gate signs displayed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWith the local area under threat from CSG mining, action against mining companies is needed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI took advantage of a nice grassy spot, and had a few minutes time out.  Well, people watching actually.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhile some were happy to smile for the camera…….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOthers, like this wombat,  just couldn’t be stirred from their dreams……

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI found a wonderful Aussie invention that goes onto my wish list – a great portable stove and heater.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI need this, as my place is reliant on mains power, and when that’s not working, I have only my little camping stove. At least with this stove, I’d only need to walk out into the paddock and pick up some wood to burn in it.  It dismantles quite easily into a very portable unit.  Check out the Ozpig.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Wildlife Service was there providing lots of information on native creatures and the environment.  Talking with a zoologist there, I found out that its a type of tree frog I’ve got in my vegie garden – yippeee!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis area was set up for Conversations.  A step back in time.  Nothing like having a cuppa though, and chatting about life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Facilitator was wonderful, and asked me questions on a few topics, and took note of my answers.  I DO like having my say on things 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis bloke was great and really engaged with the public.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATaking a well deserved tea break – I could have spent the afternoon just photographing him….  but had to move on….

….to the display by Beach Energy on their fracking in this area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI spent quite some time asking questions, and getting information from these two gentlemen, who certainly did a great PR job.  But no, they failed to convince me of the safety of fracking for coal seam gas in this area.  There is too much evidence elsewhere to the contrary and I believe it’s simply not worth the risk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’d like to think that girls like these two locals could live in an unpolluted area with safe drinking water.

Finally, the entertainment at the Field Days I enjoyed the most, was the Lumberjack Show, and I’ll do a full post on that later.  Here’s a taster…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was a great day out, and I wished it happened more than once a year!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Overview of South East Field Day

  1. OK, I confess. The wombat’s my favorite. I did laugh at that 1950’s kitchen though, and it occurs to me I don’t know nearly as much as I thought I did about sheep dogs. I get that they run around and herd the sheep, but what’s with that dog running across the top of the sheep? That’s pretty amazing. More exploration is needed!

    • There are paddock dogs, and yard dogs. Yard dogs do the leaping on the back to get to the leader of the sheep and move them forward if the sheep are stopped. Once the line is moving, the dog goes to the rear and pushes them further from behind – on the ground. I don’t know all the competition rules though.
      You can read a bit about Kelpies here – http://www.wkc.org.au/ I love kelpies. I had a kelpie Rex for 13 years, then EJ kelpie X for 12 years. Now Fred. First terrier since I was a child. He’s great but not same temperament as a kelpie. Tell a kelpie to jump, and he’ll ask ‘how high’ – tell a terrier to jump and if he hears you he’ll say ‘ why?’ 🙂

  2. Yehaa, Enivea. There seemed to be something for everyone at the Field Days. I don’t know about the sheep being herded, but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves including the alpacas.

    I agree, Yipeee for having a tree frog in your vegetable patch.

      • Enivea, You need at least two alpacas. Apparently they are such social animals, they are not happy unless they have companions. Ah well, something to put on your list of things to have in the future next to some sophisticated item of photography equipment.

      • I was thinking Margaret, that Merriwether would be the companion to the alpaca, as well as my other smaller 4-legged friends. But really, it’s all just dreams….. nay illusions.

  3. Pingback: The Lumberjack Show | Eremophila's Musings

Leave a Reply

