A multitude of millipede legs

The approaching change of seasons, with cooler nights, is bringing out the little creatures who have caused mayhem on the railway lines – the Portuguese Millipede.  It was introduced to Australia in the 1950’s, and like so many other introduced species, it has flourished Downunder, and become quite a pest.  A friend of mine in Auburn SA had so many invading his house, he had to take special measures to control them, which included running a decoy light in the garden at night, to attract them to that, rather than the house.  Each night, he was collecting half a bucket full of these tiny creatures – just imagine how many thousands that would be!  Ugh!  At least I only have a few to deal with….and when I found this one at the right height with the right lighting, I simply had to grab the camera 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAQuite aside from the fact of it being an introduced pest, it really is an amazing piece of design, don’t you think?

And as one who can trip over my own TWO feet, I’ve got to admire it’s co-ordination!

9 thoughts on “A multitude of millipede legs

  1. they are all too plentiful in south Florida and wind up just about anywhere you can imagine despite taking extreme measures
    great set of photos; too bad I am just too familiar with these critters!

    • I understand what you’re saying Eddie – I feel worse about the black crickets, who at one place I lived, kept me awake many a night.

  2. I’ve seen only one millipede here. It was a different species, and rather larger than this sort, but it was the ugliest thing I’ve ever seen. I found it under a rotting log – oh, what a fright!

    There was a little verse or story or some such my mother used to tell me when I was a child, about a centipede who ended up on its back in a ditch, immobile. Someone had asked it how it knew which foot to put first, and it confused itself into a stationary state trying to answer the question. Imagine how much worse it would be for a millipede!

    • Ha, that’s a funny story about the centipede. I suppose beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I’m rather intrigued by the insect world.

Leave a Reply

