Bones

Long before I knew about Georgia O’Keefe’s paintings, I was fascinated with animal skulls.  Since moving to this property, I’ve had ample opportunity to see cow skulls, some very old and weathered.  It’s been farmed since the late 1880’s so naturally there have been deaths over that time. Often the bones are hidden by long grass, but now at the end of summer, the paddocks have mostly been eaten down, and I’ve finding new things on my walks.

This morning was an example of finding a skull in a place I’ve often been to, a small clumps of mallee trees about 10 mins walk from the cottage.  Of course, I had some ‘helpers’ with me, and as usual, they managed to put themselves exactly where I DIDN’T want them to be!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA little persuasion was required to get them to relocate…..and then I could get on with it….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s a subject I’ll return to periodically.

6 thoughts on “Bones

  1. I’m partial to raccoon skulls, myself. I’ve got three of them in a flower pot. They’re really rather fetching. And of course here in Texas you often see cows’ skulls on fences and such. That one up above ended up in a terrific setting for photos.

    If you’ve never read Joan Didion’s piece on Georgia O’Keefe, you just must. It’s in her book called “The White Album”. I’ve quoted from it a time or two, but the whole thing is great. I’m not sure if you can find it online or not….

    Wait! There’s a pretty good excerpt available here.

    • Well, a flower pot seems a nice place to display them Linda 🙂 At least you don’t have to worry about remembering to water them! I’ll try to track down Didion’s book through the library system – they’ve been great getting in many books on O’Keefe’s work for me already.
      I’m thinking, maybe it’s time to do a line-up of the various skulls I have about the place 🙂
      Ranging from avian to amphibian to mammalian. But no, I’m not digging up a snake’s skull……

  2. Fascinating finds!

    Many years ago, one of my kids came home from school, saying her art teacher (a young woman, full of enthusiasm and creativeness), who new we lived near a dairy farm, asked if she knew of any cow skulls to be found. My daughter found one, dragged it home and the teacher came after it. She clean it up, bleached it, etc., then used it as inspiration for art in her classes, especially for the boys I suppose — to keep their interest. I understand she still had that in her class till she retired.

Leave a Reply

