Beachport New Year’s Eve

I dont know if it’s a sign of things to come 🙂 but for the first time for a very long time, I went out on New Year’s Eve!  A friend from my time up North had come for a visit, and as Beachport was said to be the happening place along the Limestone Coast for New Year’s Eve, off we went!

There were two firework’s displays planned.  One for 9pm, and one for Midnight.  Along with the rest of the crowd, just before 9pm we gathered along the foreshore to watch the fireworks set off from the Jetty.  It was the first time I’d had an opportunity to photograph fireworks….. and while I used the preset on my Olympus, I didn’t take a tripod, and the following shots are all hand held.  Maybe next time I’ll do the tripod bit…. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter the fireworks had finished, it was back to Bompas for the evening’s musical entertainment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASuzanne and Bronte played and sang some great music, and to my astonishment, I even got up and danced!  Not that you’ll see a picture of that though! 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANaturally, I took LOTS of pics, mostly in black and white, and over time, I’ll post more on these two lively entertainers, who were very tolerant of me and my camera 🙂

We left shortly before the Midnight Fireworks, as a big day out was planned for the First of 2014 – subject of my next post.  Going underground….

Happy 2014 everyone!  Gosh, I have trouble believing that is the year!  Getting into the realms of Sci-fi 🙂

6 thoughts on “Beachport New Year’s Eve

  1. It looks like a good time was had by all. I like the black and white photos especially. The fireworks are nice, too. I noticed that my cheap replacement camera even has a setting for fireworks. In a frenzy of dedication, I’ve uploaded the instruction manual to my computer so I can start working my way through it. My goal for week one was learning all the buttons and dials. I’ve still got one day left!

  2. Good for you. (My friend and I tried to go out on New Years but wound up asleep in our B&B by 10:30 p.m.) And those shots are great — you must have steady hands.

    • Ha! you youngsters just can’t hack it 🙂
      The Olly is great in low light, I can’t take all the credit, but thanks Heather 🙂

Leave a Reply

