The Grampians Part 7 – People and places

Pomonal is a village in the Eastern Grampians, 15kms to the east of Halls Gap, and the General Store is just that – in the best of the old-fashioned tradition.  I was in need of refreshment one day, and dropped in for a coffee and cake – home baked of course!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was an ENORMOUS slice of cake, and I was offered a doggie bag if I felt I was unable to eat it all in one sitting…. but as you can see, I managed 🙂  It was utterly decadently delicious and coffee was perfect – make sure you drop in if you’re ever in the area and say I sent you 🙂

Interesting local arts and crafts are displayed for sale and how nice it was to see the creative efforts of the community.

I loved the little community church, with its delightfully welcoming garden out the front of the building.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPomonal holds a market on the last Sunday of each month, an annual art show, and an annual wildflower show.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou may even be lucky enough to see a vintage vehicle traveling through the town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOr watch the locals playing cricket on the town oval in the main street.

A short distance from the village is the Glass Blowing Studio and Gallery of James McMurtrie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe outdoor sculptures are wonderful, and a taste of things to come inside the building…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy eye was really taken by this bowl….utterly gorgeous and hard to resist… but I did. It seemed to capture the essence of the local environment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI also loved some of his more unusual pieces.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIf I’d been there a day earlier, I could have watched the glass blowing process.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI was made to feel most welcome by his partner and assistant glass blower – and dog!

Closer to Halls Gap is the Halls Gap Zoo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI didn’t have time to visit the zoo, although I’ve heard it’s well worth a visit, even if just for the experience in interacting with the meerkats! For the more adventurous, you could even feed the dingoes, or hold an alligator, or a snake…..  Personally, I’d love to see first hand a Tasmanian Devil – particularly as their existence is hanging in the balance, due to the Devil Facial Tumour Disease  

Of course, if I bought this lovely home in the district, I’d be able to visit all these places on a regular basis 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI fell in love with this old home, who simply needs a bit of TLC…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThose are lilac bushes along the fence…. and I LOVE lilacs!

Home3Well, I can but dream, and dream.  From my back door, I’d see a wonderful view of the Ranges…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWho knows what Fate may have in store?  🙂

I hope you’ve enjoyed sharing my little visit to the Grampians/Gariwerd, and perhaps one day, you may even experience its sights and sounds for yourself.  It’s a pretty special part of Australia. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Grampians Part 7 – People and places

  1. This may have been my favorite post. Such variety! Such cake! (I’d have finished it all, myself.) And the thought of seeing meerkats is just beyond delightful. I think they’re one of the best creatues on earth – I’d love to see them.

    Glass blowing is a marvel and a mystery to me, too. How great that you got to see the studio as well as the finished product. People there really are open and welcoming, aren’t they?

    • I felt really welcomed where ever I went Linda, and had lots of incidental conversations too. Even the driver of the vintage car waved to me and blew his Klaxon horn 🙂

  2. At last I have read all your posts about your visit to the Grampians, Enivea. You certainly connected strongly with the place.

    Your posts revived memories of childhood family camping holidays at Halls Gap. I have strong memories of male koalas making loud, gurgling grunts.

    I hope you have the opportunity to return to the Grampians for a longer visit.

Leave a Reply

