The Grampians – Part 6 – Waterfalls

In a high rainfall zone such as the Victorian Grampians, waterfalls are to be expected, and the visitor is not disappointed.

I first visited Silverband Falls, on a day with misty rain, and patches of sunshine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe track to the Falls of 700metres is extremely well maintained, and suitable for a range of ages and abilities, with seating provided for a rest along the way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe first glimpse of what is to come….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI really enjoyed my time sitting close to the waterfall, simply absorbing the wonderful energy and peacefulness of the place.

Much later that same day, after a great deal of walking, I went to Mackenzie Falls.  In hindsight, I should have done it the other way around…….or perhaps after all the steps involved with Mackenzie Falls, I might not have been up to much else!

SignpostsThe area is well signposted, and from the carpark, to the first lookout, the path is suitable for wheelchairs.

Viewing platformMackenzie FallsOf course, if you want to see more, you have to work a little harder….. there are 276 steps down to the bottom!

Long way downGoing DownI went down to the next landing, which takes you closer to the water….

Next poolRushing waterAt this point, I decided that if I wanted to be walking the next day, it would be better not to attempt to go further down – I live in a flat area, and my muscles aren’t used to hills or steps! Going down is fine, but what goes down must come up 🙂

Going up - 276 of themIt was a very popular place, with many visitors, and for those needing refreshment after all the exertion, there’s a kiosk near to the car park.

ReplenishmentThere are many other waterfalls in the Grampians National Park – hopefully I’ll see more next trip.

I’m also including in this set, my visit to Wannon Falls, which isn’t in the Grampians, but the Falls are fed by the Wannon River, which has its head waters in the Grampians.  I passed by Wannon Falls on my way to and from the Grampians and simply had to spend a little time there.  Yet another place to return to….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA good viewing platform provides easy access, and yes, it attracts plenty of photographers. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA simple track winds among the trees and birdlife to a quieter place just a little upstream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd to a perfect place to admire Nature in all Her Magnificence…….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 thoughts on “The Grampians – Part 6 – Waterfalls

  1. My gosh, did I laugh at your “zig zag” juxtaposition of those two photos showing just the water. Wonderful! And I know exactly what you mean about flatlanders and the need to climb. I was very much aware during my own trip that a little cardio in preparation for my next trip would be in order. The Arkansas mountains aren’t the Rockies, but up and down is up and down, and at 3,000 feet or so, the change is significant for someone who’s been living at sea level for so long.

    Waterfalls are beautiful, even the smaller ones. I’m not sure I don’t prefer yours to Niagara Falls. Too much water, too much noise, too many tourists there!

    • It was really funny Linda, how the ‘zig zag’ came about – purely by accident, and then I saw what was happening, and went with it 🙂 Always happy to provide a laugh! I’m a bit fussy when it comes to looking at Nature – the fewer other people around the better, otherwise I’d rather be in a library!

  2. Really beautiful landscapes, I particularly like Wannon Falls, the overhang adds drama – the sort of place there might be a hidden cave. The waterfalls remind me a little of the falls around Ingleton in Yorkshire. Is there a ‘wet’ season and do the falls have an even higher volume of water at other times of the year?

    • There is a wet season, and I was there during it 🙂 So I think what I saw was fairly typical of winter volume. Over summer it reduces to a trickle apparently, but that’s not too bad in this land of very hot dry summers, where many rivers run dry.

Leave a Reply

