The Grampians – Part 3 – Halls Gap

Halls Gap is a small town located right in the heart of the Grampians National Park, and while the first white settler, Charles Browning Hall was a cattleman, today the town’s main industry is tourism.  It is located in the Fyans Valley, nestled between the Wonderland and the Mt. William Ranges.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe valley is quite narrow, so where-ever you look, you will see mountains rising up.  The township is well set up with plenty of facilities for visitors, such as picnic grounds, BBQs and playgrounds for the children.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was quite early in the morning when I took these photos hence few people about.

There is a shared path for cyclists and pedestrians, separate from the main road, helping to keep people safe from cars.  The town can get quite busy in peak season.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere are plenty of accommodation options – backpackers, caravan parks, motels, etc, variously priced to suit any pocket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd plenty of information so you don’t get lost!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhile I elected to stay out of the town, I did see a place that if my budget ever stretches to, I’d love to stay in…….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had to take a closer look at this building……

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh yes, I think I’d like to be pampered here! 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPerhaps on my next visit I’ll get a chance to look inside, for yes indeed, I certainly intend to return!

2 thoughts on “The Grampians – Part 3 – Halls Gap

  1. OK. Now I have to ask. How did the Grampians get its/their name? I got curious because every time I read the word, I thought, “Grampa”. Well, that’s not it. Now, I’ve learned that there’s a Grampian District in Scotland, and a town named Grampian in Pennsylvania, and Grampian sailboats and a Grampian Red Squirrel Association and…and…

    Were the first white settlers from Scotland? That might make sense. On the other hand, it could be something else entirely. Whatever the explanation, it’s gorgeous countryside.

    • You’re on the right track Linda – it was named after a mountain range in Scotland 🙂 Of course, the Aboriginal name Gariwerd, relates only to that area. I’ll continue this series, showing more of the countryside, and even some blue sky! 🙂

Leave a Reply

