The Grampians – Part 1. Paradise.

A little more than one week ago I was settling into my little retro caravan rented at the Grampians Paradise Camping and Caravan Parkland, where I was to spend three nights on my all too brief trip to the Grampians (Gariwerd)

It was my first holiday in years, and was only possible because a friend was able to stay and mind my animals for me during my absence.Β  Fred of course, revelled in the extra attention he received, and extra trips out with his mate Tony πŸ™‚

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The cats and sheep may not have been quite as happy, but they got by just fine.

There was a lot to see and do in the area, and I knew I’d have no hope of managing it in the brief time I had allowed there, but considered it as much a reconnaissance as anything – I have full intentions of returning again!Β  Rather than staying in the midst of the tourist hub, I elected to stay on the eastern side of the Ranges, and I’m very glad of that choice.Β  I really did find Paradise!

Entrance to ParadiseI stayed in a 1950’s caravan, named the “Koala” πŸ™‚Β  It was perfect for me, and I really enjoyed its retro aspects.

The many beautiful trees growing in the Park provide shade, shelter, and habitat to numerous species of birds.Β  I awoke the first morning to the laughing call of the Kookaburra.Β  There’s also a wetlands ecosystem to explore, with its accompanying creatures.Β  Just watch out for the red-bellied black snakes…… but they generally keep away from the busy areas.Β  Each morning and evening I watched the local wallabies out grazing on the grass next door and one morning was very amused to see the joey ( a young wallaby) bounding around in playful mood teasing the others.

The view from the Park takes in Mt. William, the highest point in the Grampians at 1167metres high, and next to it, Redman’s Bluff.Β  Mt. William had snow fall on its peak during my visit – and yes, it was cold!Β  Redman’s Bluff can look stunning with the bright morning light on it, but sadly, I didn’t really get those conditions, although I was still admiring it constantly.

Handy local tour maps are available from the park office, and I do recommend seeking them out as a good guide to making your way around the local area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is what I came to see – Ranges!!Β  Living by the coast is nice, but would be nicer if it wasn’t so flat!

The trip is impossible to condense into one post, so I’ve decided to make it into various subjects.Β  Next will be the Brambuk Cultural Centre in Halls Gap.

11 thoughts on “The Grampians – Part 1. Paradise.

    • Hi Binjy, yes it was my first trip, and I sure hope it’s not the last! Glad you feel the same about the van as I do πŸ™‚

  1. So – are the caravans just there as part of the park, and you can rent them? That’s ever so much handier than having to haul one around! Your photos are beautiful. I so need to learn – really learn – to use a camera. Then, I might buy a new one. But not until I’ve sorted out the basics and figured out how to use better equipment!

    • Yes, there’s 4 vans for hire there, with plans afoot for more vintage ones in the future.
      Just between you and me Linda, I shot all these images on the auto setting, as I didn’t have a chance to learn the ins and outs of this camera prior to the trip. Usually I shoot on Aperture, but I took the simplest approach on holiday. Now I’m learning all the various menus, etc, and enjoying the experimentation. It’s quite different to my Fuji. Will send you some links on learning to shoot… πŸ™‚

    • Think of the difference between a pony and a horse, and you’ve got the difference between a wallaby and a kangaroo….. size does matter πŸ™‚
      I was lucky that the worst of the weather took place at night, and while it was chilly during the day, it wasn’t windy. Nor did I have to face bushfires, which were of great concern at the time in NSW’s Blue Mountains.

Leave a Reply

