Coastal connection

Ignoring all the jobs at home clamouring for attention, Fred and I took a walk along the coast at Nora Creina to honour the winter solstice.   It had been a while since we’d been there, and it was great to be back walking along the beach and the weather was perfect!

Down to the seaThe nights have been very chilly lately, close to frost here and definitely frosty inland, but at least that usually means clear blue skies during the day.

The Birds have itI was thrilled to see a pelican basking in the morning sun!  Such wonderful birds I think 🙂

Wave JumpingThis particular spot on the beach is favoured by the gulls, and I could have watched them for a long time, as they ‘jumped’ each wave as it came in….. but Fred was waiting to explore further down the beach so off we went.

Fisherman's FriendAs per usual, there was the debris washed ashore….  I take a bag with me on my beach walks, to collect the various bits of plastic in particular that I find there.  Plastic does great harm to the sea birds

NescafeThis was an empty coffee container…. Nescafe…..

WaterWater bottles too of course….   I’ve kept all the debris I’ve removed from my beach walks, and one day plan to make something from it, to highlight people’s thoughtless behaviour.

Sand abstractOf course, there’s the sand.  I like to do little detours into the sand hills at times, and there’s always little gems to be found.

Delicate BeautyGems like this little plant growing in pure sand – how’s that for determination!

Catch of the dayThis pair of birds ran up and down along the wave line, doing their hunting for sea treasures.

HuntingAt first they kept their distance, but slowly became used to me, and allowed me in a little closer.

On the beachThe water looks inviting – it’s actually freezing cold!  Comes up from the Antarctic waters by the feel of it – even in summer I think it’s too cold!  Wet suits are in order down here.

Off for a paddleFred agrees, too cold for more than a little paddle in the shallows.   He loved the beach trip – even if it did result in a bath once we got home, thanks to the something stinky he found to roll in……the car windows stayed open all the way home!

Banks of weedMore seagulls and weed.  There was a king tide predicted but I didn’t catch it.

StabilisingThese grasses are essential in stabilising the sand dunes.  Once upon a time they were disregarded and dunes became quite at risk. Now fortunately, there’s even replanting programs along at risk sections of the coastline.

Holiday makersThis couple were the only people I saw the whole time I was down the beach 🙂

Nora CreinaMakes you wonder why there’s not more visitors doesn’t it, when it looks this great.

SplashingThe wonderful rocky coast…. the Limestone Coast of South Australia.  Keep it in mind for your next holiday destination!

7 thoughts on “Coastal connection

  1. Enivea, Thank you for sharing your record of your excursion to the beach.

    I think pelicans are marvellous. They are so graceful when they glide with outstretched wings just above the water. Watching a group of them fishing is a real treat.

    Little dogs who roll in something stinky are less marvellous. I remember years ago one of my dogs rolled in a dead kangaroo – ewwww! All I could do was place the offending dog in a bag with its head sticking out for the drive home where it received a thorough bathing – much to its disgust.

    The work you create from the beach debris you have collected will be monumental.

    • One day I plan to drive further north, to the Coorong, where the pelicans are in abundance – I can think of few things better than spending the day just watching them 🙂
      I’m giggling at the picture of a dog encased in a bag – great idea which I may well implement next time Fred finds his delight. 🙂

  2. The water is beautiful – and you mentioned the key. Limestone. Our Gulf of Mexico is muddy and dark. When it has any color at all other than brown, it tends toward green. But up in the hill country the stream and river beds often are limestone and the water is wonderfully clear and blue-to-green.

    We have both brown and white pelicans – the brown are here year around, the white migrate here in the winter. They’re wonderful to watch, and when the white ones come in by the hundreds, spectacular to watch.

    • It’s as hard for me to think of brown pelicans, as I suppose it is for some to think of our black swans 🙂

Leave a Reply

