Our little road trip

Blessed with perfect weather, Fred and I set off to explore a little bit of countryside north of Robe, with Kingston being our destination.  Rather than just head up and down the same highway, I chose to deviate easterly for a while so that a rough circle was made and very different country was observed.

It’s the time of year for lambs.  Always cute, although I do feel sorry for them being born when the weather is coming into its worst, but they are being grown for the Spring lamb market….

Lambing time

Most of the land was flat. Very flat.  I do miss the hills and can understand the feelings of the early explorers, and how excited they became when they found something more than a few metres above sea level.  Hence many little ‘rises’ were named Mounts.  It took me a while to realise this when I first moved down here – looking unsuccessfully for “mounts” before it dawned on me I was looking at it!

Early cottage

This early cottage is typical design, with its ‘breezeway’ incorporated into the building.  Even down here it can get hot during the summer – particularly once the trees have been cleared.  So the front and rear doors could be opened to let any breezes carry out the hot air from the building.  It worked surprisingly well.

All alone

But it was all alone.  Imagine how a woman would feel, moving here from a township, and being so isolated from everything.  No internet in those days!

Shearing shed

Further down the road was a shearing shed.  A great deal of wool was grown in the early days, and many made their fortune from it when wool was a Pound Sterling for a pound of wool.

Shed

This is Limestone country, and the stone cleared from the grain paddocks was put to good use in buildings and fences.  I noticed several other similar buildings in this local, and hope to do another trip and spend more time looking at them.

Yep it is

Kingston’s claim to fame, is the giant Lobster.  Yes, in the summer season they are freshly caught and sold here.

It's big

This is the sight you see as you approach the town down the Highway from Adelaide.  Unmistakable.  Love it or hate it.

I checked my map, and noticed that nearby was an Aboriginal burial ground.  Not sure what to expect, I drove on.

Sacred land

This place has been used for Aboriginal burials for thousands of years.  A sacred place.  I’ll talk more about it in another post, only to say now, that it’s been a while since I’ve walked on land that is so filled with Spirit.  Simply wonderful.

Seaweed dreaming

Seaweed has long been part of this area’s Dreaming.  I gazed at it thinking about all the asparagus plants I could mulch with it!  Hmm….  but seaweed is protected along the coast by laws from pillaging.

The foreshore

There’s lots of it!

The jetty

Naturally there’s a jetty, and Fred and I took a walk along it….. well, until Fred said he’d had enough.  He’s a little uncertain of the safety of jetties, so I don’t press the issue.

Brave Fred

Lighthouse

Another of the tourist attractions to the town is the Lighthouse.  It is no longer in operation – in fact, it was relocated from Cape Jaffa back in 1975.

historylandEyes

A great looking building isn’t it 🙂

Cottage

You can see replicas of it in many places…

To the water

All roads lead to…. the sea.  This wasn’t for me.

Coffee

Now this is more to my liking!  I was more than ready for a coffee by this time, and chanced upon a sign pointing the way to a farmhouse with goodies.  I was in luck!  The coffee was great, as was the whole place, and deserving of a post all on it’s on.  Here’s a snippet though of what is to come…

Yummy

3 thoughts on “Our little road trip

  1. Hi Enivea, Thank you for the tour of the Kingston region. It is many years since I have travelled through the region. I can remember the country being very flat and treeless paddocks – the sheep standing in each other’s shade trying to get some shelter. I hope sense has prevailed and there’s been replanting in recent decades.

    Poor Fred, Our family had a dog who was also nervous about being above water whether it was a bridge. pier or jetty.

    I look forward to your follow up posts on this excursion.

    • Sense??? You’re looking for sense Margaret? Sorry to disappoint you, but I saw little evidence of tree reveg in the area, and the gums that are there are becoming ill from the constant pressure from stock, and because they no longer have other plant communities close by contributing to their well-being. I feel sorry for the lambs being born into cleared paddocks, but was heartened to see one mob living in a paddock with tussocks of tall grass, which provided good shelter from the cold winds.
      Fred was still very young, when he walked right out to the end of Port Germain jetty – almost a kilometer long! Lots of gaps in the boards too! Mind you, not being the world’s best swimmer, I can sympathise with the canine perspective.

  2. Pingback: Kungari Aboriginal Burial Ground | Eremophila's Musings

Leave a Reply

