Natural’s Not Enough

My vote is always for wool against synthetics.

WOOLBLOG

Natural Isn’t Enough

I come from a land where there are many more sheep than people;   a land untouched by Europeans until only 150 years ago.   As you can imagine when I left New Zealand seven years ago as a carpet designer I had spent my life working and living with natural fibres like wool.  I designed and exported beautiful wool carpets all over the world.   When you do something well it gets noticed so I was then asked to come to the UK to show the rest of the world how to create a business around excellence in wool product development.

The UK like New Zealand has a long history with wool, cotton and other natural fibres.  It was textile manufacturing that sparked the industrial revolution in Manchester which shaped the world as we know it.

For centuries man has been using wool to warm his cave and shelter…

View original post 422 more words

2 thoughts on “Natural’s Not Enough

  1. Well, except that wool makes me itch so badly I can’t stand it. Luckily, there’s no need for it here on the semi-tropical Texas coast.

    Ironically, although I celebrate fleece jackets and blankets in our short winter, I’m with you re: synthetics. Polyester is a blight on humanity, and in the summer it’s entirely too hot, anyway. Pure cotton’s my choice, even in sweaters.

    • There have been many wonderful changes to the spinning of wool in recent times, and even my tender skin can cope with woollen fabric right next to my skin. Wool is now being designed especially for sportspeople as it has so many benefits over other fibres. It can be lighter in weight than cotton too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

