The best laid schemes ……

The words of Robert Burns came to me this morning….. well, especially the phrase taken from his poem:

“But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane [you aren’t alone]
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft a-gley, [often go awry]
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promised joy.”

I noticed a sole fungi had popped up in the grass near the front path overnight, and thoughts of fresh fried mushroom passed through my mind……   ah, one of the joys of autumn must surely be mushrooming!  A great deal of my childhood was spent traipsing through paddocks on the hunt for mushrooms.  Sweet success – and wild mushrooms bear no resemblance to those pathetic cultivated ones.  But I digress….

First of all, photograph the fungi.  Yes, got that.  Fungi 1

I then carefully eased it up in order to check out the colour of the gills – one of the indicators on whether it’s an edible mushroom or a poisonous toadstool.   Oh, it’s not the colour I was hoping for….

Fungi2

Before I could get another better shot, his Lordship Fred decided to have a roll around on his back – and yes, he rolled over and squashed the fungi right in front of my eyes!

Smashed

Well – so much for that!!!

The culprit

Fred then attempted to ‘wash away’ the evidence – camera wise that is!

refusing to look

He would NOT turn and look at me at all – either I was in big trouble or he was – and that was that!

Fungi3

Then I remembered a bit of a quote by Georgia O’Keeffe, where she said she got several paintings from a broken pot……

and realised that yes, there still was beauty to be seen.

Fungi4

I’ll take a different view of the broken ones I find out in the paddocks now – thanks Fred for your timely instruction! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The best laid schemes ……

    • Thanks for the link Clover, most interesting. However, I’m very wary of which fungi I consume, as toxicity can be a problem – and I’m a long way from help! This morning, while out in the cow paddock collecting pats for the garden, I found some mushrooms, and returned later with a bucket for collection. No time for photos then but I did enjoy eating them this evening! There’s rain forecast for the weekend, so hopefully more mushies will pop up and I’ll have time to photograph them 🙂

Leave a Reply

