Creatures of the air

Birds1

“You cannot prevent the birds of sorrow from flying over your head, but you can prevent them from building nests in your hair.”    Chinese Proverb

Birds 2

“The moment a little boy is concerned with which is a jay and which is a sparrow, he can no longer see the birds or hear them sing.”   Eric Berne

Birds3

“It is not only fine feathers that make fine birds.”   Aesop

Birds4

“You can know the name of a bird in all the languages of the world, but when you’re finished, you’ll know absolutely nothing whatever about the bird . . . So let’s look at the bird and see what it’s doing – that’s what counts. I learned very early the difference between knowing the name of something and knowing something.”
Richard P. Feynman

Birds5

“Why do birds sing in the morning? It’s the triumphant shout: “We got through another night!” ”
Enid Bagnold

All the images were taken in the area around my house and garden in one day.  I feel most blessed to have these creatures flying about.  Some of them are now happy to land close by me and sing to me as I work in the garden.  At those times, I have to confess, I stop work, and bask in the joy of their songs.  And why do they sing?

THEY SING BECAUSE THEY HAVE A SONG!

4 thoughts on “Creatures of the air

    • The wonderful fig tree now has it’s second crop for the season ripe, and today I made my second batch of jam this week. The birds allow me to have the fruit on the lower branches, and there’s plenty for all just off this tree. Without wanting to make you envious, there are several other fig trees on the property! I share what I can….

Leave a Reply

