Bees and naked ladies

Got your attention?  Ha!  Haaaa!

One of my frequently visited posts is titled ‘ Naked Ladies in the rain‘, referring of course, to the pink flowered bulbs, which send their flowers up before the leaves arrive.  Somehow, I think some visitors are a little disappointed when they arrive to find no naked nymphs, but …….  we are often disappointed in this life, so get used to it!

The bulbs are very hardy, and as survivors of neglect, they can usually be found growing around old farmhouses.  I’m living a long way from where the other flower photo was taken and was happy to find signs of more of these at the bottom of the long neglected garden when I moved in a few months ago.

A couple of weeks or so ago there was some summer rain, and sure enough, up popped these flowers.   The strong winds also arrived, and that made getting any semi decent photos of them quite difficult.  However, for a brief time today, the light was right, the breeze wasn’t an issue, and I managed to get a few shots before the flowers begin to fade.

Naked lady 1 Naked lady 2 Naked lady 3   I’m not a lover of the colour pink, but I’ll make an exception for a few deserving individuals 🙂

It’s hot weather here at present.  Very hot.  I keep a bowl of water by the tap just for the local bees to use and I noticed a couple of bees were sitting still on the grass stalks seemingly enjoying a cool start to the day.  Other bees were busily moving about but the two I first noticed stayed put for quite a while.  Maybe they’d been there overnight, and were taking longer to warm up…..  What ever the case, I took the opportunity to capture that moment in time.

Bee 1 Bee 3

ABee4Crowning glory

I reckon this bee has the crowning glory!

8 thoughts on “Bees and naked ladies

  1. Enivea, What sweet words ‘summer rain’! It is so dry here that plants which survived the long drought are now dying. Roadside plantings are mottled with dry, brown shrubs.

    I know ‘naked ladies’ by the more genteel name of ‘bella donna lilies’ and yes, they are super tough. You have taken some fine photographs of the flowers. They may not attract the admiration of roses, but many old gardens were planted with them.

    I have never seen bees with drops of moisture hanging from them before.The photographs are fascinating.

    • Margaret, my sympathies to you with the drought. I’ve been through a few in my life, and they are difficult times. Yet, when the rains eventually come, as they will, the transformation is almost beyond words. A cool change moved in here late this afternoon, and brought much relief from the high temperatures even though without moisture. May you feel it soon also.
      Old gardens have a special charm. I moved into one back in the late 80’s, and it had a surviving lilac, and also, the true Evening Primrose. I can still recall the heavenly perfume from those two …… and yes, a lilac is on my planting list for here…..
      I’m tempted to put in a Banksia rose….and maybe a rugosa, but no, the HTs don’t call to me much….

      Perhaps the bees have decided to adapt to global warming…. 🙂

    • 🙂 They got tired of waiting for you to show up 🙂
      I think I’ll take more notice of the bees in that place, and see if anything else unusual takes place.

Leave a Reply

