The Matrix

004.JPGThe dream

“Have you ever had a dream, Neo, that you were so sure was real? What if you were unable to wake from that dream, Neo? How would you know the difference between the dream world and the real world? “

208.caught

Morpheus: The Matrix is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth.
109why do my eyes hurt

Neo: Why do my eyes hurt?
Morpheus: You’ve never used them before.

015the prison

Agent Smith: I hate this place. This zoo. This prison. This reality, whatever you want to call it, I can’t stand it any longer. It’s the smell, if there is such a thing. I feel saturated by it. I can taste your stink and every time I do, I fear that I’ve somehow been infected by it.

070Let it go.

Morpheus: You have to let it all go, Neo. Fear, doubt, and disbelief. Free your mind.

226keeping us trapped

“The Matrix is a system, Neo. That system is our enemy. But when you’re inside, you look around, what do you see? Businessmen, teachers, lawyers, carpenters. The very minds of the people we are trying to save. But until we do, these people are still a part of that system and that makes them our enemy. You have to understand, most of these people are not ready to be unplugged. And many of them are so inert, so hopelessly dependent on the system that they will fight to protect it.”

008.JPGThe path

Morpheus: There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path.
162Human virus

Agent Smith: I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had, during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species. I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment, but you humans do not. You move to an area, and you multiply, and multiply, until every natural resource is consumed. The only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet, you are a plague, and we are the cure.

037something wrong

“What you know you can’t explain, but you feel it. You’ve felt it your entire life, that there’s something wrong with the world. You don’t know what it is, but it’s there, like a splinter in your mind, driving you mad.”
096.in the net

Morpheus: The Matrix is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from the truth.

7 thoughts on “The Matrix

  1. What a great series! The first picture is just fantastic (but they are all awesome)!
    The Matrix Trilogy is my favourite film (I see this as one single film). You have used some of my favourite quotes, like the conversation in the skyscraper that Agent Smith had in private with Morpheus, revealing his disgust with humans comparing them to a virus.

    The Matrix uses some analogies to Eastern philosophies and mysticism, but there are still some decisive differences.
    That which we could call our “real self” (or Big Self) compared to our “worldly self” (or Little Self, Ego) are actually two sides of the same coin. They are not different and they are no enemies. This delusion is not our enemy.

    Let’s say you have a moment of realisation, sensing that there is a screen and we are like projections. We should not concentrate on the screen. It might be nice and useful to know that there is a screen and we can ponder whether there is a projector, but we are still in this movie, the theater, the drama and we cannot break out of it, even if we know there is a blank screen. Thus we should try to make the best out of this illusion.
    We shouldn’t consider the blank screen as truth and the projection as a lie. IMHO this delusion/illusion, this “film” is actually the screen come to life.
    We are _both_ the screen and the film.

    Just my two cents, of course. 😉

    Cheers,

    Timo

    • I reckon it’s a dollar’s worth Timo, and most welcome as always 🙂 Glad you like the first one….. I’d like to get it printed out on textured paper one day…. have a few others like it too…

  2. Enivea, Okay, scary words………I am not familiar with The Matrix……. but entrancing photographs………… I especially like the spider on its bejewelled web……….. nice work for a virus.

    • Thanks Margaret, I do recommend the Matrix – even tho it has some violence and I’m not into that, but the concepts are thought provoking.
      You’d probably not believe how many images I have of spider webs! Enough to fill a room I reckon!

  3. Pingback: the truth | kaapvaal

Leave a Reply

