Bible bashers and God botherers

The title of this post comes from the disparaging terms used by many to describe those who take it upon themselves to knock on doors and preach to the occupant.  Uninvited.  Unwanted.  Unwelcome.

Yet again I have been assailed in my home by such persons representing religion.  Their standard spiel is to talk about the dire state of the world, and, it seems to me, to engender fear into the heart  of the person, in order to convince them that they can be ‘saved’ if only they join this or that church.  They are keen to quote passages from the bible, to back up their words. There appears to be an ever increasing emphasis on the ‘bad’ situations occurring in communities and it is this aspect that has finally riled me sufficiently to express my views here. What about all the volunteer firefighters who are currently putting their own lives at risk to fight the fires burning around the countryside?  What about all those who go out of their way each and every day to help others less fortunate?   I’m the last person to have a Pollyanna-ish view of the world – in fact quite the opposite!  But let’s give credit where credit is due, and not condemn all of society because of the actions of a few rotten ones.  Surely a so-called representative of God should be affirming ‘good’ behaviour, and not harking on about the dreadful state of affairs?

Never have I heard them talk about their personal relationship with their god.  Never have they told me about an amazing experience they’ve had where they personally felt touched by their god.  Nor have they asked me about any numinous experience that I may have had.  I would welcome an exchange of this nature, I’d be happy to invite them inside for a cup of tea, if I thought there would be a frank and honest discussion about gods and such like.

But I sip my tea alone and in silence……..and reflect on my own numinous experiences…..   Numinous

6 thoughts on “Bible bashers and God botherers

  1. Excellent picture, exactly my taste!

    The topic of religion is very problematic.
    I have made some pretty bad experiences with regards to overly eager Christians and Christian belief per se. (I could tell you stories…)
    I think the expression “god-fearing” says it all. Organised religion is based on fear. And it was Jiddu Krishnamurti who said: “The constant assertion of belief is an indication of fear.”

    I once got verbally attacked, because I chose the expression “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas”. However, isn’t it the sense behind it that’s important? I just wished somebody a good, happy time. But seemingly, to many people labels seem to be more important than meanings.
    You probably know the famous Alan Watts quote: “Saints need sinners.”

    To me it is like this:
    “You are that vast thing that you see far, far off with great telescopes.”
    (another Alan Watts quote, sorry)
    Of course, an awful lot of people won’t understand what is meant with this, but that’s OK.
    As long as people let other people be themselves, it’s fine to me.

    1. Glad you like the pic Timo – it’s my current wallpaper, so obviously one of my favs 🙂
      Thanks for your considered reply. Loved the quotes! Your final sentence is one I concur with wholeheartedly 🙂 I’ll finish with another of Alan Watts quotes, to make it easier for some “You don’t look out there for God, something in the sky, you look in you.

  2. In my opinion, organised religion is has a closed logic to it, like partisan politics. They say they are right because it says so in their religion’s book (i.e. the bible). This is akin to a political candidate claiming they are right because it says so in their party’s policy.

    1. But of course, I am right and you are wrong and that’s a fact! Ha haaaa! Anyway, neither you nor I am organised, so that’s not a problem 🙂

  3. I think it sums it up…
    Numbers 23:22 God brought them out of Egypt; he hath as it were the strength of an unicorn.

    Has a myth the strength of a fantasy?

Leave a comment