Transformation

Transformation10

Nature often holds up a mirror so we can see more clearly the ongoing processes of growth, renewal, and transformation in our lives.

~ Mary Ann Brussat

Transformation9

All things must change to something new, to something strange.

~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807 – 1882)

Transformation1

Any transition serious enough to alter your definition of self will require not just small adjustments in your way of living and thinking but a full-on metamorphosis.

~ Martha Beck

Transformation2

If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we are not really living.

~ Gail Sheehy

Transformation3

Only the extremely ignorant or the extremely intelligent can resist change.

~ Socrates

Transformation4

If we can recognize that change and uncertainty are basic principles, we can greet the future and the transformation we are undergoing with the understanding that we do not know enough to be pessimistic.

~ Hazel Henderson

Transformation5

There can be no transformation, no awakening, without the ‘here and now’ experience of life, which involves all of our being, not just our intellect.

~ Robert White

Transformation6

All personal breakthroughs being with a change in beliefs. So how do we change? The most effective way is to get your brain to associate massive pain to the old belief. You must feel deep in your gut that not only has this belief cost you pain in the past, but it’s costing you in the present and, ultimately, can only bring you pain in the future. Then you must associate tremendous pleasure to the idea of adopting a new, empowering belief.

~ Anthony Robbins

Transformation7

Personal transformation can and does have global effects. As we go, so goes the world, for the world is us. The revolution that will save the world is ultimately a personal one.

~ Marianne Williamson b. 1952
Transformation8

You must be the change you wish to see in the world.

~ Mahatma Gandhi

8 thoughts on “Transformation

  1. What a wonderful posting for the turning of the year. I’m especially taken with Socrates’ words: “Only the extremely ignorant or the extremely intelligent can resist change.” The more I think about that, the more I believe it – and the more I see myself at both ends of the spectrum! When it comes to intelligence, one of the best things I’ve done for myself is look critically at the plethora of i-gadgets and social media opportunities and mostly reject them.

    As for that other end of the spectrum… I can think of plenty of examples, but I’ll need some time to sort out whether it was ignorance or stubborness that kept the change from happening!

    • Many thanks Linda, for your most kind, and also thoughtful, reply. I like your reference to i-gadgets and social media – that’s an aspect I hadn’t considered in this context, but you’re quite right of course! Stubborness and determinaton are tricky companions – they can either help or hinder our endeavours. šŸ™‚
      I am a fixed sign, so change sits uneasily with me, yet I love adventure! Over the years I’ve come to realise, that there are a couple of ways I can approach change. One is to attempt to manage it on my own terms, at the pace I can handle, and that way I don’t feel steamrolled. Or imposed upon. Other times, I can only abandon this method, and realise the futility of resistance, and step into the whirlwind. The wisdom of course, is knowing which method is appropriate, and I confess I’m still learning……..

    • Thanks Timo, yes I quite agree, the Far Eastern traditions have much wisdom to guide us. Hope you’re having great holidays!

  2. Enivea, I enjoyed the images of the little green caterpillar – it is unusual seeing this type of caterpillar in closeup. The quotes chosen to accompany your images exemplify the challenges of change whether they are incremental or dramatic.

    • Thank you Margaret, I’m glad you enjoyed the little creature. It’s been enjoying my basil leaves šŸ™‚ but still leaving enough for me. I think it’s a fair exchange šŸ™‚ Here’s hoping your new residence will show its face in the not too distant New Year xx

Leave a Reply

