The Path to My Heart

If I were to read no other than poetry today
If I were to read no other than poetry tomorrow
If I were to read no other than poetry for many days
I’m sure it would soften the path to my heart.

For the softness of poetry is what our heart desires
Not the clanging of reason and intellect and mind
Which hardens our path with bricks and form
And on which we stumble, quite forlorn.

The path to my heart has been hardened it seems
By training my mind to take charge of the scene.

6 thoughts on “The Path to My Heart

Leave a Reply

