Not a bird brain but brainy birds!

In the early morning, I like to sit down near the river while my horse grazes nearby.  It’s generally a quiet peaceful way to start the day and I can watch the various birds as they enjoy the small river also.  Downstream, in the high cliff banks, the feral pigeons have their roosts and morning and evenings they fly up to the pipeline where it crosses the river.  From that position they can greet the sun in the morning, and say goodnight to it at the end of the day.  Sages recommend people to take the time to greet the day and bring closure to it , if they seek wisdom.

There’s a man-made structure across the river, and it provides a perfect place for the birds to take their ablutions and have a drink.  These two enjoyed it this morning although sometimes there’s quite a crowd jostling for space.

8 thoughts on “Not a bird brain but brainy birds!

    • Thank you very much:-) There’s a large flock of pigeons use this place, and I was lucky enough to have the prettiest drink while I was there.

  1. “I like to sit down near the river while my horse grazes nearby” What a wonderful image it create in my mind. I experienced many of those wonderful places in other times.
    Beautiful picture of those two birds, they have to be really thirsty to dip their beaks completely in the water.

    • In some ways, I’m leading the life I dreamed about as a child. It’s been a high cost though. As for the birds, I realised it’s taken me three years to get that shot. Guess good things come of patience:-)

Leave a Reply

