my view of the natural world

The little adventuring – Part 1

Three years ago I left the area I loved and moved from the Mid-North of South Australia to the Lower South East.  It was for the sake of my health, as the farming chemicals in the area were dramatically adversely affecting my daily life.  Coastal life held some reprive…..  and so I became an environmental refugee.  My heart has always remained in the North; no matter how much I tried to love this area, it never really spoke to me in the way that the north does, and in particular, the Flinder’s Ranges.  If there’s a place on this Earth that I feel at home, it is in the Flinders.

So I resolved to take a journey back, to see if it really was how I still felt, or if I was simply in love with the notion, and not the reality.  I was also looking forward to catching up with old friends.  A new friend from this area, and also relatively new to Australia, accompanied me on this trip, while Fred and the cats went into boarding.  Merriwether stayed at home, keeping the grass mowed.  The plan was to be away for about 10 days, with three days at Melrose, at the base of Mt. Remarkable, Southern Flinders Ranges.  It was a flexible timetable, to allow for happenstance, which incidently, did happen :-)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is what I travelled hundreds of kilometers to see - Mt. Remarkable.  It really is quite amazing how it suddenly appears out of the plain.  All 960 metres of it.  For one who now lives at virtual sea level, it’s balm for the soul.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA While surfing the net for somewhere to stay, I came across Kookaburra Creek Bush Retreat, and thought it seemed worth a try.  So very glad I did!  Initially we booked in for three nights, then added an extra night for good measure.  The bus was within my budget, and it was great!  It bit like camping with an outdoor kitchen, but with more comfort for sleeping on cold nights.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASweet and simply furnished, it fulfilled its role wonderfully.

I’ll write more about the Retreat in another post, as there’s far too much to talk about in this one, to do it full justice, but here’s a few bits to whet your appetite.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere’s a couple of locals, enjoying the peaceful surroundings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnly in Australia out bush would you be likely to see a notice like this :-)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere are many old trucks strategically placed around the large property and yes, I took many many pictures of them.   Wallace the Blue Heeler, is resident guide dog, and takes all new visitors for a walk around the grounds.  Although still quite young, he was very well mannered and a real pleasure to have the company of.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMy companion also loved taking plenty of pictures of the trucks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA late afternoon view of the Northern Flinders Ranges.  I spent a decade living in them…. a long time ago….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAReturning to the Mount at sunset, after a day out at Quorn.

Overall, we were very lucky with the weather, it being mid-winter Downunder, as rain didn’t dampen too many days.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One morning I rose before the sun and climbed up high to catch the sun as it rose over the tree tops.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn this morning, the golden light was wonderful as were the birds singing to it. No crowds here to spoil it.

Of course, there were many other places and people I saw along the way, all of it memorable.  More on it later… I hear rumblings approaching from yet another storm – winter is well and truly arrived!

 

11 responses

  1. Lovely atmosphere, and what a great place to stay the bus looks.

    I lived near a village called Quorn in Leicestershire. Probably the same place the Australian Quorn was named after. In the days before it was banned, the Quorn Hunt was probably the most famous fox hunt in England. Though I did like to see the red-coated riders it was a very cruel and unnecessary way to kill the beautiful red foxes of Leicestershire.

    June 27, 2014 at 6:29 am

    • eremophila

      There’s an endless renaming of English places here Brian. Brighton, a seaside suburb of Adelaide, has next door, Hove, for instance. My English companion commented actually on the way back from Quorn, that sections reminded him of Wiltshire. Mind you, he was seeing the country full of greenery during a good season – summers out there are very harsh and not for the wimpish. Pictures of Quorn will follow I promise.

      June 28, 2014 at 12:32 am

  2. What a fun mountain! I can see why the sight of it would lift your heart. The last photo of the mountain, taken from the road, looks so much like a part of Texas I love. You’re trucking along, and suddenly the foothills are there. It’s just so lovely.

    The bus looks like fun – cheery and welcoming. And kangaroos? Oh, my. I think I love kangaroos as much as meerkats. I think it’s the verticality. ;)

    June 27, 2014 at 10:26 am

    • eremophila

      The mountains here aren’t all that large, compared to some other countries, but then, this area is some of the oldest on Earth and much weathering has taken place over millenia. In indigenous culture, it is the men who climb mountains, and the women who travel along the gorges – not sexist in my view, just an understanding of the different energies. I’m not all into climbing mountains, but I DO need to be able to view them. I once lived at the base of a mountain, way out bush, and that was wonderful, even if challenging at times with its remoteness. As for kangaroos and meerkats, I think you might have nailed it :-) and young joeys are maybe as playful as young meerkats.

      June 28, 2014 at 12:45 am

  3. Beautiful photos. You obviously enjoyed the trip :)

    June 29, 2014 at 12:35 am

    • eremophila

      Thanks Heather, yep, it was pretty darn good. :-)

      July 11, 2014 at 5:08 am

  4. Mt. Remarkable – we can be very literal in naming things, but in this case it is well deserved. I can understand your sense of longing for the mountains. They don’t need to be huge to want to be amongst them. I grew up in the Lake District hills but then moved to the Yorkshire plain – flat and dull brown all winter – always with itchy feet to be back in the hills. Lovely photos.

    July 4, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    • eremophila

      Ah yes, you understand :-) I only spent a few days in the Lake District a long time ago, but it still holds a special place in my heart too.

      July 11, 2014 at 4:52 am

  5. Now of course, I’m living in the Netherlands. Highest point, just above sea level!

    July 11, 2014 at 10:14 am

  6. beautiful shots! sounds like you had a nice trip. :-)

    July 12, 2014 at 5:16 am

    • eremophila

      Thanks Sheila, nice X 100 times! :-)

      July 24, 2014 at 2:49 am

Leave a Reply

