my view of the natural world

Portraits

My long awaited new lens arrived today!  The 45mm 1.8 portrait lens for my Olympus EM5.  Due to the extreme heat being experienced all around my state this week, I didn’t go outside with it, but in my slightly darkened house I used it on my as always, very helpful muses – Pixel and Fred.

Here’s the first experimental shoot, and while I’m happily in love with it already, I’m sure given time and practice, I’ll improve on these.  It’s certainly going to be a lot of fun trying!  I’ve got human models lined up also, so hopefully that will begin next week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd yes, I sneaked up on my keyboard and took a shot while it wasn’t looking :-)

6 responses

  1. OH, my. Your kitty looks so much like my Dixie Rose. Those are fabulous portraits – just wonderful. Heart-melting, I might say.

    January 15, 2014 at 9:17 am

    • eremophila

      Many thanks Linda :-) And it seems we have good taste in kitties :-) I had a further short play with the lens today, on a variety of subjects, and gee, it’s nice! I know good gear doesn’t necessarily make a good image, but by golly, it helps!

      January 16, 2014 at 3:52 am

  2. Lovely portraits, even of the elusive piano! I especially like the pink nose of the kitty! All your first efforts seem right on sharp and beautifully done!

    January 20, 2014 at 9:06 am

    • eremophila

      Thanks very much Clover :-) I’ve since had a chance to practice on humans, and am very happy with this lens – I just have to learn to do it justice now.!

      January 21, 2014 at 3:59 am

  3. Hi Enivea, The top portrait of Fred is pretty much how Katie looked each day as it grew hotter and hotter during the recent heat wave.
    And as for Pixel – pretty as a picture.

    January 26, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    • eremophila

      Poor Katie, and you! I’m lucky to rarely have it stay hot overnight and it does make a difference when at least sleep is possible. Fred was happy to cool off this morning in the shallows, during a quick trip to the beach.

      January 27, 2014 at 3:06 am

Leave a Reply

