my view of the natural world

Having a Brush with the wildlife

Here’s a few pictures I shot recently in my front yard, of a regular night-time visitor – A Brushtailed Possum.  Mostly it is quiet, and doesn’t gallop on my roof, preferring to spend its visit trimming the roses, or the pumpkins…..or eating from the vegetable scraps I put out to share.  One morning I found its calling card on the windowsill – I hope it was amused at watching me inside the house.   A case of the watcher being watched :-) 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 responses

  1. Wow, what a cool sighting.

    May 13, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    • eremophila

      I was lucky it ran up the tree, where it was easier to photograph. Usually it runs off into the dark paddock before I can get the camera out. But it’s slowly getting more used to me :-)

      May 14, 2012 at 10:33 am

  2. What a fascinating creature!

    May 14, 2012 at 12:21 am

    • eremophila

      They have the sweetest faces don’t they, but never corner one or you’ll find out how sharp their claws are. Many of Australia’s creatures are nocturnal and so we don’t see them much and then don’t value them as much as we ought to.

      May 14, 2012 at 10:32 am

  3. ozibloke

    An excellent series of pictures of your furry friend, who looks well fed with the food you leave out and that in your garden. Perhaps next visit it will bring some of the family along?
    Baby possums are even cuter, if that’s possible. My favourite old black kelpie, now long gone, was called “Possum”. Of course, Dame Edna Everage has immortalised them with her cheery greeting: “Hello, Possums!!!” Her pet name for humans….. :)

    May 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    • eremophila

      It can bring the whole tribe along if it wants…..I’m sure Frank would enjoy the company :-)

      May 15, 2012 at 1:11 pm

  4. Your possum looks quite different than the ones I would see here in the U.S. (central New York State)! You’re lucky to be able to photograph this nighttime visitor. Well done!

    May 14, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    • eremophila

      Thanks Clover, I’ve yet to get photos of it chewing up my pumpkins! :-)

      May 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  5. The possums which stomp, tap dance and gallop across the roof of my house don’t care how much noise they make as they growl at each other in their attempts to stake their claims to tasty plants especially the fruit of the feijoas.

    The ring tail possums are more retiring than the bully boy brushtails.

    May 18, 2012 at 10:26 am

    • eremophila

      I seem to have only the one frequent visitor, and it doesn’t usually get onto the roof :-) I agree, ring tails are much more polite :-)

      May 20, 2012 at 5:50 am

Leave a Reply

