my view of the natural world

Here’s looking at you……

It’s hot here, summer has hit with a vengeance.  Yesterday mid afternoon the temperature on the back verandah, in the shade, was 48C.  Today it’s expected to get as hot.  This time I may remember to take a photo of it.  As it is cooler under the verandah than out in the sun, one can only imagine what the temperature may be.  My thermometer doesn’t go higher than 50C……..

Anyway, yesterday morning while attending to my garden, I found a praying mantis, quite a large one, and later on in the day found a smaller one on the geraniums.  The story on the big one will have to wait – it’s simply too hot in my computer room!  Now I’m off for a cooling drink…….

10 responses

  1. Beautiful picture, so much details. I hope you can cool off. 48°C wow, i cannot imagine that right now. I would be sitting in the fridge. :D

    January 31, 2011 at 3:51 am

    • eremophila

      I’m very lucky that a friend a few miles away has an indoor swimming pool that I’m able to use, and that gives me a chance to drop my body temperature down for a while. So far it’s not been bad enough to drop dead crows out of the sky. I had that experience during one really bad drought during the 80’s. Crows are tough birds, and so when the heat gets to them, watch out!

      February 1, 2011 at 12:51 am

  2. Lovely picture – I hope the heat gets to us too – we have had an incredibly mild summer so far. I’m not complaining though – these warm days have been stunning compared to the hot sweltering ones you are experiencing. Last summer we had days like that for the whole of Dec, Jan and Feb.

    January 31, 2011 at 5:39 am

    • eremophila

      It’s been a slow start to the hot weather this season, so I shouldn’t complain:-) It’s possible it could continue until March though….. makes one really appreciate the autumn break to the season when it arrives.

      February 1, 2011 at 12:48 am

  3. I don’t even know what 48 degrees C is in Fahrenheit…and I don’t think I want to.

    January 31, 2011 at 11:54 am

    • eremophila

      It’s around 118F :-) Right now, at late morning, it’s a mere 100F……The other verandah on the south – cooler – side, is usually a few degrees less until late afternoon.
      Humidity very low…. Counting my blessings though because poor Queensland is battening down for a big cyclone due to hit tomorrow. After weeks of floods, it’s the last thing those poor people need.

      February 1, 2011 at 12:44 am

  4. What a great shot! I heard about the insane temperatures that you’re having right now! I’ll trade ya – some of your heat for some of our arctic air and 8-14 inches of snow (that we’re supposed to be getting in a couple of days)!! :)

    January 31, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    • eremophila

      Yes Holly, I offered a trade with another friend near St.Louis who is expecting pretty dire weather. Maybe it’s working, it’s going to be a little cooler today….air wise that is, but buildings have heated up by now.

      February 1, 2011 at 12:38 am

  5. What a fascinating creature!

    And wow, 48°C sounds great to me!
    We have -5°C right now – want to swap? ;-)

    February 1, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    • eremophila

      Praying mantis are charming creatures:-) How about we split the difference temperature wise?

      February 1, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

