my view of the natural world

Capering about

The state I live in has few butterflies, especially compared to Queensland which has many rainforest species.  The conditions here are too harsh for all but the hardiest.  So when I see a new butterfly in my garden, it is cause for great excitement.  Today I saw not one, not two, but several of these fluttering about – I think they are Caper Whites.  The time they spent on each bloom was very brief; they danced about flippantly, daring me to chase them.  But I’ve learned my lesson on photographing butterflies, and know the most successful behaviour I can adopt is to sit quietly and wait.  It’s a useful discipline for me to learn and one I can apply to other aspects of my life.

4 responses

  1. I love butterflies!
    Interesting yellow parts.
    I can only confirm that it is the best thing to wait – they tend to come back to their original place after initially flying away.

    November 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    • eremophila

      I’m hoping I’ll see more as the season progresses and other plants bloom.

      November 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  2. I live in Hong Kong, where there are upwards of 200 separate species of butterfly. It’s hard to get good photos, but I featured pics of four species in my photo essay Another side of Hong Kong.

    November 16, 2010 at 1:27 am

    • eremophila

      Thanks for dropping by Dennis, your images showing another side of Hong Kong are very interesting.

      November 16, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

