my view of the natural world

Tortoise times – Chelodina Longicollis

Those who fish in my local river had told me about the tortoise which lived there, but in three years I had not seen any.  So imagine my surprise and delight when I found this one on the edge of the river yesterday morning!  It stayed around long enough for me to take pictures from various angles and positions, and then once it decided to return to the water, it moved quicker than I expected – greased lightning is a saying that comes to mind!  I managed to get a couple of shots of it in the water before it swam too far away.  It’s possible it was out to lay eggs, as it’s the right time of the year for that.  Hopefully I’ll see it again sometime.

2 responses

  1. Wow – that’s really fantastic!
    It looks very big in this picture, but according to your link above normal size would be about 20 cm.

    November 4, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    • eremophila

      I realized too late I’d not taken a measure of it, or with anything as a comparison, but yes, about a small handspan was its size. I’m just about to go down to the river again – fingers crossed I get another chance!

      November 4, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

