my view of the natural world

Portrait perspectives

Ginger Mick is one of my two cats I presently have and this image of him is quite unlike the real shape of his face, owing to the angle I took it from.  That’s the interesting aspect about portraiture.

A while ago, I did a portrait shoot for a friend of mine.  I asked which side she thought was better, and we worked mostly with that in mind but to satisfy my curiosity, I took some from the other side.  It showed a very different person!  I was amazed at the great difference – it could have been two different people.  Not everyone has such a contrast, but how many of us are aware of the change?

4 responses

  1. I know this effect.
    I know myself mostly from my mirror image, but when I see a photo of me, it looks strange/unfamiliar to me.

    October 16, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    • eremophila

      I spent some time doing SP, it was a useful exercise in exorcising some ghosts…..

      October 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm

  2. What a beautiful cat! I used to have an orange cat years ago – his name was Punkin :)

    October 17, 2010 at 12:29 am

    • eremophila

      Thanks Holly. There’s something very special about orange cats, isn’t there! This one has the most laid back attitude I’ve ever come across yet, loves to have a game also.

      October 17, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Leave a Reply

