my view of the natural world

Fleeting

Probably nothing reminds us more of the fleeting nature of life on this planet, than a butterfly. I have deliberately planted butterfly attracting plants to my garden, and of course, do not kill caterpillars regardless of the damage caused by them.

This autumn, I am finding a greater variety than before in the species of butterflies visiting.  How they find my garden miles away from any other greenery and flowers in this dry time fills me with wonder. Now I have the challenge of trying to photograph them!  I soon found that trying to chase after was hopeless as they would soon fly away.  They have taught me to wait…..quietly….and then they will settle nearby.

After all – isn’t that what the sages tell us -” What is meant to come to us will do so in the right time, and nothing is to be gained by trying to hurry the process along.”

Leave a Reply

